DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS

MICHIGAN PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

EMERGENCY 9-1-1 SERVICE STANDARDS OF TRAINING

(By authority conferred on the Michigan public service commission by sections 408(4)(c) and 413 of 1986 PA 32, MCL 484.1408 and 484.1413)

PART 1: GENERAL PROVISIONS

R 484.801 Applicability.

- Rule 1. (1) These rules apply to a primary public safety answering point (psap) as defined by the emergency 9-1-1 service enabling act, 1986 PA 32, MCL 484.1101 to 484.1717.
- (2) All new and existing telecommunicators of a Michigan primary psap shall comply with the provisions of these rules no later than 1 year from the effective date of these rules.
- (3) All Michigan primary psaps and the emergency 9-1-1 service committee shall comply with the provisions of these rules no later than 1 year from the effective date of these rules.
- (4) The emergency 9-1-1 service committee, as defined in section 102(e) of the act, may implement procedures as needed to carry out these rules.

History: 2012 AACS.

R 484.802 Definitions.

Rule 2. As used in these rules:

- (a) "Act" means the emergency 9-1-1 service enabling act, 1986 PA 32, MCL 484.1101 to 484.1717.
- (b) "Basic telecommunicator training" means the minimum level of training for 9-1-1 telecommunicators who perform 9-1-1 call-taking and emergency services dispatching.
- (c) "Date of hire" means the start date of work as documented in a telecommunicator's personnel record.
- (d) "Delinquent telecommunicator" means a trainee telecommunicator who has not completed the training requirements in R 484.804(2) and (4), or a designated telecommunicator who has not completed the requirements in R 484.805.
- (e) "Designated telecommunicator" means any person who has completed the required training within the required time frame, as specified in R 484.804 and R 484.805.
- (f) "Exigent circumstance" means a crisis situation lasting not more than 2 hours that may arise in a primary psap, with little or no notice, in which the 9-1-1 calls cannot be managed without using a delinquent or undesignated telecommunicator, or other similarly situated employees.

- (g) "In-service training" means course work approved by the committee under the act.
- (h) "Internal training" means training that is specific to a primary psap and may be used toward the continuing education credits for the designated telecommunicator. Internal training shall not be approved for funding under MCL 484.1408(4)(c).
- (i) "Leave of absence" means a period of time that a telecommunicator is absent from work, during regularly scheduled work time and that is approved by the employing agency.
- (j) "Telecommunicator" means a person answering or processing 9-1-1 calls at a primary psap.
 - (k) "Trainee telecommunicator" means either of the following:
- (i) A person hired as a telecommunicator not more than 12 months before the effective date of these rules.
- (ii) A person hired after the effective date of these rules who has not completed the requirements of R 484.804(2) and (4).
- (l) "Undesignated telecommunicator" means a person who has not met the training requirements of these rules; who is not able to perform dispatch duties except in exigent circumstances; and, whose employing agency has been notified by the committee of the designation and corrective measures found in R 484.805(4).

History: 2012 AACS.

PART 2: TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

R 484.803 Training requirements exemption.

Rule 3. A telecommunicator employed by a primary psap for a minimum of 12 months before the effective date of these rules is exempt from R 484.804(2) and (4), but shall meet the requirements of R 484.805.

History: 2012 AACS.

R 484.804 Training requirements.

Rule 4. (1) A trainee telecommunicator who does not meet the training exemption in

R 484.803 shall comply with the training requirements in subrules (2) and (4) of this rule.

- (2) Within 18 months of the effective date of these rules, a trainee telecommunicator who is currently employed by a primary psap shall complete module 1 consisting of a 40-hour basic telecommunicator training course approved by the committee. Module 1 shall contain all of the following subjects:
 - (a) An overview of public safety police, fire, and emergency medical services.
 - (b) Telecommunicator roles and responsibilities.
 - (c) Legal aspects of dispatcher services.
 - (d) Interpersonal communications.

- (e) Public safety technologies.
- (f) Telephone techniques.
- (g) Call classification.
- (h) Radio communications.
- (i) Stress management.
- (3) A trainee telecommunicator who was hired after the effective date of these rules shall complete the training specified in subrule (2) of this rule within 18 months of the date of hire.
- (4) Within 24 months of the date of hire, a trainee telecommunicator who was hired after the effective date of these rules shall complete module 2 consisting of a 40-hour basic telecommunicator training course approved by the committee. Module 2 shall contain 8 hours of training in each of the following subjects:
 - (a) Domestic violence.
 - (b) Suicide intervention.
 - (c) 9-1-1 liability.
 - (d) Stress management.
 - (e) Homeland security elective.

History: 2012 AACS.

R 484.805 Continuing education; requirements.

- Rule 5. (1) Every 24 months, a designated telecommunicator shall complete module 3, a 24-hour designated telecommunicator training consisting of continuing education. A maximum of 8 hours of the required 24 hours may be internal training.
- (2) All telecommunicator training shall be approved by the committee, except internal training which shall meet the recommendations established by the committee.
- (3) A designated telecommunicator classification may be maintained if a telecommunicator changes employing agency or, if verified, if training was obtained independent of employment.
- (4) Continuing education requirements for each 24-month period may be extended by the committee due to a leave of absence. An employing agency shall communicate leave of absence information to the committee.
- (5) If a designated telecommunicator fails to complete the training in R 484.805(1) required under this rule, the committee shall issue to the employing agency a noncompliance notification, which shall require corrective measures to be completed within 180 days. The notification shall also inform the employing agency that the designated telecommunicator is now an undesignated telecommunicator. A telecommunicator remains undesignated until the committee receives proof of completed training or corrective measures.

History: 2012 AACS.

PART 3: EXCEPTIONS

R 484.806 Exceptions.

Rule 6. Nothing in these rules shall preclude a primary psap's authority from using whatever reasonable resources are available to perform telecommunicator duties in an exigent circumstance.

History: 2012 AACS.